Historian's Corner

Early Years of the Troop

Troop 301 was officially formed in December 1965 and received its first charter Scout Sunday at the St. James Lutheran Church in 1966; Herbert Pfeifer served as our first Scoutmaster and John Ziegler as the first Committee Chairman. In the years since the troop was founded, the size of the troop has averaged 50 boys, and some of today’s scouts are 2nd generation members of Troop 301.

Troop 301 has produced one professional Scout Executive and a National Order of the Arrow chief (Jeff Herrmann), as well as one local Order of the Arrow Lodge Chief (Frederick Sandhop). (The Order of the Arrow is the national honorary camping fraternity.) More than 120 young men from Troop 301 have attained the rank of Eagle, Scouting’s highest achievement level.

Troop 301’s first Eagle was awarded in 1971 to John Ziegler (son of the first Committee Chairman).

Troop 301 has had 30 scouts reach the level of Eagle Scout in just the five years between 2005 and 2010.